Recognizing Our Staff Who Responded to the Winter Storm

By Jamie Shuster

snow-stormLast week our state faced the second severe winter storm of the year. And, again, DHEC staff across the state acted quickly to help keep South Carolina residents safe during the storm.

Between Tuesday, February 11th and Monday, February 17th, DHEC worked with over 145 external partners to respond to the storm, opening 9 special medical needs shelters in Allendale, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Florence, Lexington, Marion, Orangeburg, and Williamsburg Counties. We deployed 179 dedicated nurses and administrative staff who worked 12 hour shifts to provide shelter to 45 people with special medical needs and their caregivers 24 hours a day.

Dan Drociuk and our Public Health Preparedness (PHP) team led our response efforts, coordinating over 370 DHEC employees across the state to respond quickly to the public’s needs and work with state and county EMDs, fellow state agencies, nursing homes, hospitals and others to help some of our state’s most vulnerable residents stay safe during the storm.

I’d like to say a special thank you to the following PHP, nursing, and administrative staff members who were deployed to respond to the storm:

Midlands Staff Deployed:
Holly Adelman
Milissa Barton
Mechelle Benjamin
Linda Boyd
Amanda Burgess
Tiffany Carter
Veronica Cerda
Barbara Charles
Anita Edmonds
Lynne Foster
Jacqueline Foster
Pam Kitson
Pam Leonard
Debbie Reynolds
Phyllis Weston

Low Country Staff Deployed:
Sheila Ackerman
Melissa Alden
Dawn Alston
Francina Argroe
Linda Ashley
Amy Ayer
Rhonda Benton
Paula Boland
Gerri Buhler
Nancy Burnham
Clara Butler
Cheryl Close
Deborah Cockrell
Jennifer Crisp
Candice Darnell
Bevelyn Davis
Mary Elmore
Tammy Evans
Megan Evans
Jeannie Gasque
Liz Gebhardt
Linda Gerber
Latoya Hall
Susan Hargrave
Deanie Hess
Brenda Hughes
Angie Hutto
Shelidonna Jennings
Cindy Jones
Joe Jones
Jill Knight
Gene Kurtz
Kim Malphrus
Lisa Masker
Sherri McAlhany
Karen McClary
Marian McDaniel
Peggy McDaniel
Tim McKenzie
Shirley Milhouse
Carol Mixon
Sandy Moore
Susie Moorer
Missy Mount
Kelli Murray
Toni O’Cain
Karin Oehring
Emma Parler
Patricia Pinckney
Cheryl Prickett
Gena Reeves
Denise Rice
Becky Robberson
Kathy Robson
Judith Rockwell
Tina Rumph
Andrew Rutland
Phyllis Sabitsch
Suzanne Sears
Sheila Silon
Debra Stivender
Tammy Thomasson
Samantha Wadford
Marie Walker
Stacie Walling
Donna Ware
Johnnie Watson
Miriam Wilchanovsky
Terrilyn Young

Pee Dee Staff Deployed:
Rhonda Ahtonen
Tiffany Allen
Ann Austin
Steven Batts
Lucretia Bellamy
Gene Benfield
Crystal Berry
Yolanda Bleasdale
Wanasha Brabham
Merriell Braveboy
Anna Brown
Sylvia Brown
Martha Brown
Lakesia Bryant
LaKeisha Coker
Angela Coker
Caryl Crawford
Seceal Davis
Kelly Driggers
Mary Eaddy
Kelly Eaddy
Jennifer Ervin
Mable Freeman
Kathy Funderburk
Heather Gainey
Jean Galloway
Nancy Gandy
Barbara Gaskins
Cathy George-Washington
Sheri Gleason
Melanie Graves
Karen Griffin
Jennifer Griggs
Fran Hall
Jeannie Hardy
Iris Hayes
Yvonne Hill
Vicky Hinz
Carol Hodges
Melissa Hoffman
Tammy Hood
Kathy Huggins
Gloria Jackson
Heather James
Lillie James
Latreece Jett
Felecia Johnson
Antoinette Johnson
Dara Johnson
Candy Johnson
Crystal Keith
Gaye Kirby
Krissi Lane
Ruth Ann Langley
Lavonna Lavender
Ron Lee
Darla Lee
Wanda LiFrage
Karen Lowder
Jennifer Maddox
Jane Mansfield
Lawana Mark
Jerry Martin
Janet Matherly
Stacy Mathis
Carolyn McCall
Cathy McCord
Tammie McCutcheon
Janice McFaddin
Stephanie McGee
Janie McKenzie
Jill Michael
Marsha Miller
Lonelle Montgomery
Judy Morris
Denise Morris
Chris Mullins
Andi Nesmith
Jackie Norris
Tonya Peavy
Roselyn Perez
Leslie Ann Poston-Floyd
Cheryl Price
Paul Repik
Felicia Richardson
Georgia Robinson
Anne Rogers
Charita Rouse
Laurie Scott
Patricia Shuping
Kasey Skipper
J. W. Smith
Kathleen Smyers
Candace Soloman
Brittainy Starling
Nioka Stuckey
Angela Tidwell
Nancy Toth
Linda Vann
Teresa Walls
Stacie Watford
Sara Wells
Peggy Wiggins
Mikki Williams
Angie Willingham
Rhonda Windham
Towanda Wright

Central Office Staff Deployed:
Phyllis Beasley
Sam Finklea
Shirley Hollingsworth
Richard Kos
Margaret Richardson
Richard Caldwell

Thank you to all of our staff members who braved the snow and ice to keep our shelters open, and to everyone who worked long hours to provide vital support in our response to the storm.